Section 8 Housing Quality Standards

All units under the Section 8 program must comply with HQS both at initial occupancy and during the term of the assisted lease.

Housing Quality Standards are the minimum standards set by HUD that a unit must meet to be considered for acceptability for the Section 8 program. These standards include the following key aspects of housing quality:

  • Sanitary facilities
  • Food preparation and refuse disposal
  • Space and security
  • Thermal environment
  • Illumination and electricity
  • Structure and materials
  • Interior air quality
  • Water supply
  • Lead-based paint
  • Access
  • Site and neighborhood
  • Sanitary condition
  • Smoke detectors

Rent Reasonableness - Each unit inspected will also be certified that the approved contract rent is reasonable in relation to rents charged for comparable units in the private unassisted market. Factors taken into account will be:

  • Location
  • Size
  • Type
  • Quality
  • Amenities
  • Facilities
  • Management
  • Maintenance services